The Lodge, formerly Armadale Lodge, and now the Cuillin Hills Hotel was built in 1882/1883 by the Macdonalds as a shooting lodge/dower house. In the early 20th century as the Castle at Armadale continued to deteriorate, the Lodge was used more often as residence for some of the Macdonald family.
It was part of the 'famous Macdonald Estates' as the sale brochure of 1950 noted. At this time the two-storey Lodge was sold with cottages, gardens, garages and immediate policies which amounted to approximately 13 acres. The sale brochure stated it was vacant at the time of sale, and was a 'dignified and lovely house suitable for a shooting lodge, residence or hotel'.
It was owned in the 1950s by James Pringle Ltd, Holm Mills of Inverness and used a workers residence. It was sold in the mid 1960s, converted to a hotel, and has operated as the Cuillin Hills Hotel since then. The situation of the buildings on the northern side of Portree Bay provides spectacular views. From the entrance and established gardens around the hotel, visitors can look out over Portree Bay, the Sound of Raasay and to the Cuillin Hill range, making it an enviable setting for a hotel.